Average Cost Of A Maine Coon?

maddies momma

TCS member, Crazy Cat Lady!
Alpha Cat
Purraise
I understand the importance of adopting from shelters and giving cats in need a good home. As a vet tech student I'm sure I will adopt my fair share of cats in need throughout my career. Though Somewhere along the lines I would love to have a maine coon. If I'm going to seek out a purebred then I'm going to do it right, through a responsible breeder. So I am wondering what is the average cost of a purebred maine coon from a reputable breeder? I have researched many maine coon breeders in my area and have only found one that fits a high standard and is still in business. One requirement I have for a breeder is that they health test their adults for genetic diseases before breeding them. I can only find one that does this and seems decent in all other aspects. However she charges $2000 for a kitten. This seems a bit much as most others charge 1200-1500. I know that she may charge more as she does more and is a better breeder but $2000 seems way too much for a pet quality kitten, even if it is purebred with health tested parents. So does anyone know the acceptable price range for a reputable maine coon? And for anyone who can help, I live in ontario, Canada in case you can offer breeder suggestions.

abyeb

Charlie's Purrson
Veteran
Purraise