Aspiration Pneumonia Early Signs??

WMM201

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Hi all, I am new to the Cat Site but have found the forums useful. I was wondering if anyone has any experience wit aspiration pneumonia and how it develops? For three days around a week ago. i had to give my cat Lactulose for constipation. The vet didnt tell me how to do it, so I squirted directly into her mouth. I now know that isnt the right way. Once she had a congested sounding breathing for about 5 to 10 mins after a dose. But never choking or anything. It has been a week and she has an eye flare up. I am just worried that it is an URI developing from early aspiation pneumonia?? She is otherwise okay, eating lots and pooping normally again, sleeping and cuddling a lot. Should i be worried? Does aspiration pneumonia take long to develop? I just am so concerned that by dosing her incorrectly with Lactulose I might have done serious damage to her health!

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

WMM201

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I definitely am calling tomorrow when they open, but I am worried because I have a business trip this week and can't keep an eye on the cat. She also is scheduled for a dental cleaning and possible extraction in 10 days, and I don't kow if that is a good idea with her eye flare up. More to ask the vet about. Just wanted to see if anyone knows how long it takes for aspiration pneumonia to set in, just so i can maybe stop worrying so much tonight since it is such a major illness (if it is that at all).

fromthevalley

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
In my experience I noticed signs pretty early. My cat Artemis has a habit of inhaling her food if I don’t smash her food down properly. She had a bit of a nasal discharge, but it was mostly wheezing and coughing.

My vet recommended locking her in the bathroom with a hot bath or with a humidifier (helps clear out the lungs). I also pat her sides to clear out the mucus (this is called coupage).