Art

Katie M

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
For a psychology assignment, I had to pick a famous person (living or dead) with a mental illness and write about them. I picked Vincent van Gogh, my favorite painter :hearthrob:

After I turned it in, I kinda sorta fell down a rabbit hole :oops: Now I'm reading up on the history of modern art. It's SO interesting. Photography was a huge game-changer. Artists didn't have to try for realism anymore, and art took off in amazing directions.

YMMV of course, but in my humble opinion, the late 19th century was when art really started getting *good* :anticipation:

Norachan

Staff Member
Purraise
Yeah, art is really interesting. I have a degree in Fine Art Ceramics and I go to galleries and exhibitions every chance I get.

Pretty much every historical event or discovery or technological advance had an affect in art.

The discovery of Tutankhamen's tomb influenced the fashion, jewellery and cosmetics of the 1920's, trade with Japan influenced the way faces were painted and backgrounds were treated in Europe.

So many rabbit holes to go down!

Have you read Ways of Seeing by John Berger? If your interested in psychology and art you'll probably enjoy that.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Katie M

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Ways of Seeing sounds really interesting, I'll keep an eye out for it :)

Columbine

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Have you read Touched with Fire (Kay Redfield Jamison)? It's fascinating - exploring the link between mental illness and artists (in the broadest sense of the word, so painters, writers and musicians).

denice

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
There is a strong link between very creative people and mental illness. There is also a strong link between schizophrenia and genius level ability in Mathematics. In retrospect it is believed that Albert Einstein had Aspergers. Aspergers is on the autism spectrum which definitely blows a hole in the stereotype about autistic people.

Graceful-Lily