Are Cats Normally Affectionate?

Sekai

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Just to note that I have very little knowledge of cats as I've never had a cat or know anyone that does. Anyway, a few weeks ago at the restaurant my family works at, we found a black cat in the big space behind the restaurant where trucks come in to unload stuff and throw trash away. I think it was abandoned maybe. I was just wondering if there could be anything unusual about this cat. Whenever we go near it he just comes up and rubs himself around our leg, head butting our hand every time we try to pet him, and meowing a little in a low pitch voice. Does it want food? I try to food him chicken and stuff but he doesn't seem interested at all. He does eat the can cat food I bought from the grocery store though. But other than that he just does rubs and mews I'm very confused as to what he wants from me. Is this normal cat behavior? Does anything sound strange here?

abyeb

Charlie's Purrson
Veteran
Purraise
All cats have different personalities, some, like the one you found, are affectionate, while others are more standoffish. Are you going to adopt him? If you decide to, take him into the vet to be checked for a microchip (to see if he is truly abandoned or just lost), be tested for FIV, FeLV, get vaccinations, and be neutered.

thricenine

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
He sounds very friendly! I've had cats who're cuddlebugs and love to be pet/scratched all the time but I've also had cats (like my current one) who're playful but more standoffish and don't really like to be picked up or cuddled, except on their own terms. Then when they're done, they're done!