Anyone Else ever do Epogen shots themselves?

mews2much

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I gave Coco her Epogen shot for the first time tonight.
The vet showed me how to do it and I hope I did it right.
Her PCV was 20% last Thurs up from 18% the week before.
I sure hope the Epogen will help her.
She also may have a clotting problem now also or liver problems.

cruiser

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I have never had to administor any shots before on any of my cats,just do what the vet showed you how to do,you must have just felt nervous being it your first time.I hope someone here can be more helpful then myself.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

mews2much

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Thanks,
I have done fluids since Jan/Feb 2009 with a 18 G needle but this is my first time giving the Epogen.

snickerdoodle

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
I know the Epogen syringes looked much smaller, like regular needles. I was told I was supposed to give Boo his sub-q. Are you giving them sub-q? If you are unsure ask the vet to show you again. I made my vet show me for a week how to give fluids because I didn't feel comfortable with it after only three days.

footersownsme

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
Originally Posted by mews2much

She also may have a clotting problem now also or liver problems.
if she is having clotting problems please be sure to use the smallest needle possible and make sure you pinch off where you injected the epogen. I've seen animals bleed for hours from a 22g needle injection who have clotting issues. Our rule with patients who have platelet issues or clotting issues is a minimum 10 minute hold off (after drawing blood). Hope the epogen helps

otto

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Not epogen, but I gave Ootay
subq Vitamin B-12 and Vitamin B complex shots for many months.