Am I Feeding My Cats Enough?

Jbrookat

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I am new here, but not new to cat ownership. I grew up with cats, who were always free fed dry food, and my beloved Libby died last May after 16 years with me. About a month ago, our family adopted a pair of rescue kitties, who we named Toffee and Mittens. They are calico littermates, and they are the sweetest girls ever! The group we adopted from did not know much about these kitties, other than that they were surrendered and were behind on their shots. Our vet thinks they are about a year old and has given them a clean bill of health.

I have done a lot of research on feeding cats, mostly because of my Libby. I got Libby when I was a grad student, and I always just free-fed her dry kibble because I didn't know any better. Of course she got to be overweight. The diets I put her on never worked, and she was plagued with multiple health problems for the last 8 years of her life--thyroid issues mostly, but also arthritis and kidney trouble, and it was probably all due to her weight. So I am trying to do better with these girls.

Both Toffee and Mittens are indoor only and about 9.5 pounds. I have been feeding them each 2 portions of Sheba pate in the morning, followed by a sprinkle of Redford Naturals Grain-free dry cat food (store brand at Pet Supplies Plus) to graze on throughout the day. In the evening, I feed them about 1/4 cup each of the Redford Naturals. The calories, best I can figure, is 90 for 2 portions of Sheba, and the Redford Naturals is 447 cal/cup, so 1/4 cup plus a little extra comes to 120-130 calories. So they are each getting a little over 200 calories per day.