Am I Being Overly Sensitve About Possible Harm To My Cats?

myfamily

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I rent a townhouse along an irrigation canal. The irrigation canal is apparently owned by the city. Last summer unbeknownst to me, my neighbor sprayed along the canal because he said it had hemlock in it.
His spraying turned all the weeds brown. This happened in the summer of last year, and my cat got ill in December, and died not long after. She had some kind of lymphoma cancer. She was about 10 years old. I have always felt that his spraying had something to do with it because my cats spend a lot of time along the canal. He is a maintenance man by trade. Not a maintenance here, mind you, but he is a maintenance man for an apartment community elsewhere so he has access to the spraying equipment and chemicals. Now he is getting ready to do it again. He scoffs at the idea that my cat getting sick had anything to do with his spraying last year. I think about all the suffering my cat had to go through, and I am literally about to snap. Am I being overly sensitive? I have OCD so I often do not know when I am being irrational. I have already written the city to ask them if they can do something to interfere. It is city property. The rental management company from whom we rent has no ownership along the canal.

denice

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I don't think that it was the cause of your cat's lymphoma because your cat cat died just a few months later. Lymphoma takes longer to develop and get to the point of death. There are many possible causes of lymphoma in cats. It is the most common cancer in cats, it has even been nicknamed 'kitty cancer'.

That being said, it isn't good for your cats to be exposed to a herbicide. Is there anyway you can keep them inside for a while after he sprays?

margd

Chula and Paul's roommate
Veteran
Purraise