Advice On Can Food?

naavafern

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I'm trying to choose the highest quality canned food I can get for the lowest price (I'm a college student on a budget but still want my cats to eat right!) I've done a little bit of research but thought someone more knowledgeable might be able to give me some advice. I've currently decided on Whole Earth Farms Grain-Free Real Duck Pate Recipe Canned Cat Food, but could definitely be persuaded to choose another brand of a canned wet food (preferably poultry pate) within my price range (below $0.24/oz)!

A little background: my two cats are an 8 year old female short haired with no health issues and a 6-7 month old female medium haired kitten with an unknown health background. The kitten was a stray in a trailer park before she was brought to the shelter, but they haven't noticed anything in the time she's been there (she's actually still there awaiting one final test result before I can adopt her.)

Last edited:

MissMolly08

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
I also have a tight budget and one thing I realized when looking for cheap but healthy wet foods is that you also have to pay attention to calories! The Whole Earth duck pate is a pretty low calorie food which means your cats will need to eat more of it! It also only comes in 5oz cans while most others are 5.5oz.
Do you know how much your cats weigh? That would give you an idea of how many ounces of food they need to eat per day...
Also, it is recommended here that you rotate wet foods. Every company has a different vitamin mix that they use and every brand has pros/cons. By rotating foods, you help ensure your cat gets a good balance of everything. This means you may want to find a few different foods within your budget and feed all of them on a rotation, not just pick 1 food.
My budget is under 0.20/oz and a few I have found in my budget are..
Fancy Feast Classic Poultry & Beef Feast Variety Pack Canned Cat Food, 3-oz, case of 30