Advice Needed For Semi Feral Older Kitten

toothlessxkitty

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
His name is Nishki. He is about 4 to 5 months. I trapped him at a ranch along with 8 other kittens. Not only did the property owners not want him there, but they were also being picked off by coyotes. I've made some major progress with him, but we seem to be at a bump in the road. He will let me pet him, and even seems to enjoy it. He will also come up to me sometimes and boop my finger with his nose. The catch is that he has to be in the kennel for this to be okay. If I try to pet him or greet him outside of his kennel, he darts off. If I want to pick him up, I have to scruff him, and pick him up by his bottom. If I don't, then he panics and rips up my arm. He even panics when hes just sitting in my lap. Am I just moving too fast? Would he be better off and happier if I just found him a barn? (He is fixed). Any advice or tips for this guy would be greatly appreciated. This is my first time working with ferals, although I have fostered kittens for the past 2 years.

Attachments

shadowsrescue

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Thank you for rescuing this sweet one. He may never be a cuddly lap kitty, but he is in a warm safe loving home. Please don't give up on him and return him to a barn. I have brought 6 feral cats into my home over the years. They all have taken different amounts of time to adjust to inside living and humans. The very first one I brought inside ( also an orange kitty like yours) was 3 years old. It took him a solid year to adjust. Time and patience is your friend. There is a saying when working with feral cats; one step forward, two steps back. It's just the way they operate!

Here is a great 3 part video series that has some great tips for working with feral cats. It starts with the rescue of the kittens and moves forward to their socialization.

Tough Love Video - UrbanCatLeague

Kieka

Snowshoe Servant
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise