Advice for starting to feed strays.

FurmiliarCattitude

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
There are a few stray cats in my area and in my search to find a food Loaf would eat to get her off of Blue Buffalo (I have found one yay!), I am left with a ton of extra food that she won't eat. Since the bags are open none of my local shelters or rescues will take it so I was thinking about feeding strays. There are also a couple of dogs people let roam and I was wondering if that might become an issue? I am new to this so maybe I'm overthinking but any advice is welcome!

tabbytom

Happiness is being owned by a cat
Staff Member
Mentor
Purraise
There are a few stray cats in my area and in my search to find a food Loaf would eat to get her off of Blue Buffalo (I have found one yay!), I am left with a ton of extra food that she won't eat. Since the bags are open none of my local shelters or rescues will take it so I was thinking about feeding strays. There are also a couple of dogs people let roam and I was wondering if that might become an issue? I am new to this so maybe I'm overthinking but any advice is welcome!
When there's food left out for strays, they'll most likely come back for more as what lucky luc lucky luc mentioned. They move around looking fr food and once there's a constant supply, likely you'll most likely to se them again.

You can check and walk around and see if where you stay, feeding of strays is not an issue, then you can freely feed them either outside your house at the porch or garage or garden or if the strays will not come near you, feed them where they hang out but make sure i's not in front of neighbor house that hate cats.