Adopting an older cat

nicolina

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
We are (hopefully) adding a new member to our family the fall. She's an older cat, eight years old, and is actually the mother of one of our other rescues. [emoji]10084[/emoji]️

I basically just wanted to see if anyone had any tips for me. smile.gif I have a lot of experience with cats, and I have rescued three cats before her, but I've never rescued an older cat.

Is there something special I should think about/do?

I know older cats should have their blood works checked our every year (kidneys, liver etc). Is she in the age group that needs to have that done?

Thanks for the help!

This is her by the way [emoji]10084[/emoji]️

sivyaleah

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Older cats are awesome!

We got our first one at 9-1/2 years old.  So mellow, sure of himself, sweet and relaxed.  He just turned 15.  Our younger one, is now about the same age as the cat you may be adopting.  Not quite at the point where she needs more medical attention but we take her anyway since we're already packing the other in the car LOL.

8 years old is considered senior by most standards, although some might be straddling that cross-over due to good health, but surely she'd benefit by having bi-annual visits at this age. All senior cats, ideally, should be seen 2x a year.  As cats age their needs change, just like ours.  

At 8 I bet she will still have lots of energy in her.  Our older one didn't seriously slow down until just a year or so ago.  Our 8 year old still thinks she's a kitten most of the time!

POST EDIT: She's beautiful, I have a softness for the Calicos and Torties 

Last edited:
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter

nicolina

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Older cats are awesome!