A Question About Contractions

Jenna19

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello! I took in a stray in mid December and she quickly started getting bigger so I had a feeling she was pregnant. I first noticed her belly movement(the kittens) on January 24th. Last night she started having small contractions or at least what I assume are contractions? She is tightening up her upper half then releasing then about 4 seconds later, she does it again. I noticed it at 11:30pm and it is now 6pm the following day and they are still happening... they still aren't huge contractions. How long should this continue until the next stage of labor begins? I plan to get mom spayed after the kittens are weaned! :)

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Jenna19

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
She is sleeping now right up next to me... still having small contractions and purring now. She's been in the same spot for about 2 hours now instead of roaming the house.

Jcatbird

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I’m not an expert but having watched many strays give birth, it sounds like she is getting closer to having the babies if she is sticking close to you.
Has she found a nice spot to deliver them? Roaming around usually means they are looking for the safest place to deliver. A nice box with puppy pads or even newspaper you can dispose of after the birth may seem attractive to her.
I’m so glad she is with you to deliver. That means the kittens won’t be born as ferals and will be easily socialized for adoption. This will end the rough life Mom would have been leading and kittens too! Thank you so much for bringing her in when you did. That’s awesome! :thanks:

Jenna19

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise