8 Month Old Kitten Might Be Developing Food Allergy?

Richard2121

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Hey all! It has been awhile since I have been active on here but I am back because of a tiny health issue with my youngest baby.

Okay so I have an amazing vet who I have built some trust with and he seems very intelligent, while being young and enthusiastic in his approach. He has helped me with all my past cats' issues (I have 4). My most recent issue is sort of a new one that I have no experience with. My 8 month old kitten, Daniel, whom has been generally healthy with no illness up to this point, has started bursting at the seams with issues. He has either discharge/fluid buildup in his ear which is dried and looks almost like blood but is just fluid. It is not an alarming amount but he is also developing chin acne, and his claws are showing signs of infection. They are to the point where he aggravates them more by over grooming. There was litter stuck to his paws when I took him into the vet so he assumed this might be part of the problem. He also said due to the number of issues relating to infection all over his body, he may have a food allergy that is just starting to develop.

I do not know how to properly handle this situation since I have 4 cats. The vet recommended Hill's Z/D prescription canned food, yesterday's news litter instead of clumping, and he gave Daniel a steroid shot to help treat the ongoing infection which will last 14 days. He also recommended that after things start to clear up we could slowly reintroduce his old diet and confirm if there is indeed a food allergy. So this is an expensive venture, first I have to replace almost 80 pounds of newly poured litter from 4 litter boxes because they share. Then I have to replace it with yesterday's news and hope that all 4 of my cats are willing to use it without going to the bathroom on the floor all day while we are at work.