2 kittens better than 1?

jodie

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi- I'm new to the message board! My question is: I have a 3 mo. old male kitten, "Hobbes" that is very rambunctious & has a major seperation anxiety when left alone- he cries incessantly. (he won't let us even close the bathroom door without crying!) His mother was a stray, and he was taken away at only 4 weeks (not by me! I would never have seperated a kitten so young!) I have been hearing that another kitten would keep him company during the day when we are away, so he wouldn't feel so lonely, and also ease the negative attention that he is directing towards us (rough play & biting). I would personally prefer to get a female kitten as they are generally more cuddly- Hobbes only let us pet him when he's sound asleep... But am worried that a male and female wont get along. I do plan on neutering (and spaying if I get a female) at 6-7 mos. Any suggestions on what sex of kitten (if any) would best suit Hobbes? Please Help!!

sandie

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Well, yes 2 kittens are usually better than one if they are home alone most of the day. In my exerience either sex can be cuddley. Males and females get along the best. Especially when you bring them home when one is older. Same sex cats tend to be more territotial. My suggestion to you would be to get another kitten, but get one that grabs your heart no matter what sex.

Sandie

Anne

Site Owner
Staff Member
Admin
Purraise
Hi Jodie and welcome to the forums!

Yes, I would definitely say that two cats is better than one and easier to handle.

They would do all the rough play with each other and be more gentle with you.

In my experience a female and male is good, but two males can also be great. I still have to see two females who actually like each other (cats, that is
)

Whichever you choose, don't forget to neuter/spay in time - before the cats reach sexual maturity (4-6 months would be the right time for that).