10days Old Kitten. Open Mouth Breathing No Distress

jessmatt355

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
hello everyone. I’ve never done something like this before but I was hoping someone can help me.

I have A 10day old kitten that every once in a while opens his mouth Almost to yawn or a cry but there’s no sound comes out or Sometimes he makes a “huhhhh” sound. It happens for about a minute or less. And It mostly happens when he’s resting. No distress and when i touch him, he stops. No trouble feeding from mom & no other issues with him. His siblings didn’t make it, one had a cleft palette, but he does not. He is a normal kitten other wise. Eats sleeps, poops and wobbles around.

He’s been to the vet twice. My local vet and an animal hospital. When he’s at the vet he doesn’t do it so they have no idea what it is. I sent them the video but they can’t base anything out that. Too little for oxygen/sp02 readings and xrays. So not much they can do.

Has anyone heard or seen this before or know that it could be?
Please & thank you

Kieka

Snowshoe Servant
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Sounds like baby hissing. Most likely something startled him and he's reacting to that. Could be new smells or sounds in the area. Even something as simple as a new lotion on your hands could startle him.

As long as he is eating and gaining weight I'd be comfortable waiting until he's older. Most likely, once his vision is stable he will stop the behavior.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

jessmatt355

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Thank you for the reply Kieka!

He does it randomly when no one is by him & in environments that he is familiar with. His breathing changes as well. Its like he almost stops breathing for a few seconds, then gets rapid, then stops and he goes back to what he was doing (most of the time sleeping).

I dont think its him learning to hiss but thank you, I appreciate it :-)

lutece

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise